European Parliament approved appointment of IMF managing director Christine Lagarde as next ECB president. The motion was voted for by 394 to 206, with 49 abstentions. Lagarde should take over the job from Mario Draghi from November 1.

Luxemburger Yves Mersch was also voted by the parliament to become the next Vice President of the supervision arm, by 379 to 230 votes, with 69 abstentions.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.